Valero Alamo Bowl

Visit the Official Valero Alamo Bowl Website

The 23rd Valero Alamo Bowl will kick off on Saturday, January 2, 2016 at 5:45 p.m. CST in a nationally televised game on ESPN unopposed from any other college or NFL football games on network television.

This marks the second consecutive and third overall year the Valero Alamo Bowl has been played in January. The first Valero Alamo Bowl played after New Year’s Day was January 2, 2010 between Texas Tech and Michigan State, a 41-31 victory for the Red Raiders in front of a sellout crowd of 64,757. The game earned a 5.6 rating making it the #1 most-watched college bowl game in ESPN history at the time.

Last year, the #14 UCLA Bruins outpaced the #11 Kansas State Wildcats 40-35, the seventh time in the last nine games where the outcome was decided in the final minutes. The game produced another 5.6 TV rating and featured the first Top 15 matchup in Valero Alamo Bowl history.

“This year’s calendar provided us an excellent prime time Saturday slot to showcase the Valero Alamo Bowl and San Antonio,” said Derrick Fox, Valero Alamo Bowl President/CEO. "After hosting the first Top 15 match-up in our history last year thanks to our improved selection rights, we’re ready for the season to start to see what top teams from the Big 12 and Pac-12 conferences are coming in San Antonio.”

The Valero Alamo Bowl has hosted 22 bowl games and 9 neutral site games at the Alamodome in San Antonio. These 31 games have attracted over 2.29 million spectators (over 50% are out-of-town visitors), generated a direct economic impact in excess of $539 million and contributed over $91 million to higher education through team payouts and local scholarships.

For the second consecutive year, this year’s Valero Alamo Bowl will match-up the #1 selection from the Big 12 and the #1 selection from the Pac-12 after the College Football Playoff selections.  This six year partnership will run through the end of the 2019 college football season.

Upcoming Events